Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
774 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yet another question from me folks...

Sadly, I'm a checkbook mechanic interested in getting a GTV6 as you can gather from my other posts. The mechanic looked at it and said that the front donut needs replacement and he recommends doing all three while he's at it. He quoted me $943 for this ($550 for the flex discs alone)...seems really high to me...what do you think?

Coincidentally, the water pump, timing belt, and tensioner replacement is also about $943.

Unfortunately, the car is over 1,000 miles away so it looks like I'm getting priced out of this car...

·
Premium Member
14,931 Posts
The front donuts have a shorter life than the other two. You may not need to replace the center and rear. I had to pay someone to replace the front one on a Milano in Colorado and the cost was about $350. It might be a bit more if your GTV6 is pre mid '85 as those cars do not have the removable cross member which makes the job a bit more difficult. Also, the exhaust has to be removed and you may need a new center muffler if the current one is not in good shape.

·
Registered
296 Posts
Centerline sells a driveshaft rebuild kit which has the three flex discs, center support and center bearing for ~$450. The quote you got seems reasonable to me.

·
Registered
2,380 Posts
My factory flat rate book says about 3 hours or so(but that was written in 84 and not for a car with 20 something years) So $300~400 for labor sounds fair. I have done dozens and it was not my favorite job:mad:

·
But Mad North-Northwest
11,260 Posts
Yep, I paid about $900 on the Milano so it sounds reasonable. This was three donuts, center support, and sending out the driveshaft for one-piece rebalancing.

Hector, can't you use the mechanic's quote to talk down the asking price?

·
Registered
774 Posts
Discussion Starter #7