Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there a photograph illustrating the "fill and "drain" plug of the transmission? My GTV manual has a drawing that is not abundantly clear to me.

Also, am I correct in that the drain is a hex style nut about 14mm on the driver's side and the fill is similar to a bolt on the passenger side more or less?

Also, these two apparent fill and drain that I am referring to seem almost on the same level of the transmission housing.

As a novice, I appreciate the help.

·
Registered
7,166 Posts
Make sure you can remove the fill plug before you remove the drain plug:eek::). Otherwise, you'll have a empty gearbox that you can't fill (unless you do so from the top which is a real drag. Secondly, you'll have (at least I did) to jack the car up level to refill to the correct amount. IIRC, the gearbox takes about 2 qts. The drain and fill cannot be on the same level. The fill should be midway on the trans case and (of course) the drain on the bottom.

·
Registered
12 Posts
To make the filling job easier and much less messy, if you go to your favorite auto parts chain, you should be able to find a pump with a screw in top and a flexible clear plastic hose that will allow you to attach it to your new fluid reservoir and pump the fluid into the fill hole. Its been a while since I got mine, so I can't tell you where I got it, but they should be readily available.

·
Registered
554 Posts
I just bought the exact item focusa is speaking about at my local discount auto store(Murrays). They have them for quart and gallon jugs, around $3 to $4. By the way, what oil are you going to use? Murray's did not have SAE 90 oil, just this Valvoline Synthetic Durablend 80W-90.

·
Premium Member
217 Posts