Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A classic theme but need some help... My 2.0L engine probably is fitted with an Alfetta head with mixed parts. My intake camshaft has an inactive variator with part No. 116860320001 and my exhaust one has part No. 105200520000. I had always the impression that my timing was not correct, so decided to recheck. The photo "initial" is my first setup and the "final" is the current one. The marks were existed and it seems that intake is advanced(?) a little bit but in this setup the engine starts noticeably easier, keeping immediately idle even cold and the idle is stabilising 100 rpm higher than initial setup. In a very short drive test engine seems to rev in a more vivid way. Any comments would be really helpful if this OK or not! I have no experience from variator and I am afraid to touch anything on this. My cranck is absolutely in TDC confirmed by a ruler in No. 1 cylinder and coincide with pulley mark.
Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,315 Posts
I would check the marks on the caps with the templates available from Centerline. Then you'll know where your lobe centers are.

·
Premium Member
22,973 Posts
Different years and markets had different marks on the cap, so yes, use the CL template or similar to figure out what marks you have there, then time to what you want.
Andrew

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #4