Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone. I am somewhat new to this. About 1 1/2years ago I tried to trade my 911 for a Giulia. Didn't work out, but now I have sold another car and am getting ready to buy a Giulia.

I am in California. It seems like the market here in the US is very slim. So I started looking in Europe: Netherlands, Germany, and - guess what - Italy. There seem to be quite a few cars available in Italy. The prices are good - good enough to make up for the travel expenses and shipping. Well, maybe not quite, but I'd love to have the experience.
This is what I'd do: buy the car somewhere north of Rome. Drive it through the country and across the Alpes. Ship it from Bremerhaven/Northern Germany to the US. Import won't be an issue for me (have done a lot of research on this subject before).

Here are my questions for you:

1. I am thinking 1300 Super or 1600 and I am being honest here: It's the look I am going for: want those 4 lights in the front!

2. Has anyone ever bought a car in Italy? How do I deal with insurance, registration?

3. Are any of you Italy? Could you help me out with registering etc. in Italia?

4. What specifically should I look for / avoid with these cars (I have read up a little, but would like some tips from personal experience).

Thank you All!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
22,365 Posts
Can't speak to the Euro experience specifically, but in what to look for, the more complete and unmolested the better. A solid shell is the basis of a good car. Mechanicals are easy to fix compared to bodywork. Interior work comes in between in terms of complexity and cost. Beware shiny, just-restored cars, as they may be poor underneath, but experted prepped to look great for sale. It takes some time to see how paint and bodywork will hold up.