Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Newbie here. I’m going to be checking out an ‘87 spider that may be ‘the one’ next wknd.

Looks like a really nice driver with minimal rust, no synchro issues, and really clean engine bay, undercarriage, paint, and interior for about $6k.

Is there a resource that lists the questions I should ask when I see the car?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
989 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,913 Posts
Another valuable resource is the members of this forum.
Perhaps post your location and if there is a member near you, they might be willing to check it out with you.
Anyone that has owned a Spider long enough or keeps up with the troubles people have posted on the forum over the years, will know what to look for standing at the car, vs trying to remember off the top of their head and write an itemized list.
Good luck with the purchase!

·
Registered
7,359 Posts
Where are you located.. the best source of info is the extra pair of eyes and knowledge of a person who owns a car like this. If that is possible get someone who knows the cars to go with you., I've had good success reaching out to local AROC chapters for a chaperone. I've been around these cars for a long time but never owned a Bosch car from the period you speak of .. There are so many nuances to them that need experiences to make a sound judgement on them. If I was to look at a car like this alone it might as well be a Peugeot and I don't know Peugeot's. My best advice is to be careful on the front end of a buy like this. Six grand might sound like a deal but sometimes you are buying a car that is significantly more expensive to get right. 99% of the time a bargain priced car will be a big draw on your wallet when the dust settles and the best way to go is to work with an experienced owner in your area. There are no guarantees but it can be a much more informed buy than reading a check-list.

·
Registered
10 Posts