Alfa Romeo Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Hello folks,

It's my first post, about my first problem with my first 1986 Spider.

After removing the drain plug (per the manual) and fully draining the radiator, i noticed that the plug (bolt) would not thread back on. After closer examination (see my pictures), it appeared that it wasn't the plug that broke, it was the part of the radiator that the plug screws into that completely sheared off, with the plug still inside.

I'm wondering what options i have at this point for repair? My thought is to simply file down the broken section of the radiator, weld a nut to it, and then thread a small bolt into it with a silicone ring, but i have no experience with this and I'm not sure if it'll actually work.

Ps. I went ahead and pulled out the radiator, flushed the coolant system, including back flushing the heater core and replacing the thermostat. Thank you all in advance!

·
Premium Member
1,776 Posts
Find a local rad shop with a guy who works in it that’s older than you are and he will likely be able to fix that pretty easy.

·
But Mad North-Northwest
12,071 Posts
Yeah, that's why I'm afraid to remove the radiator drain plug on my GTV :D

The radiator's brass so you're not going to weld it. The right way to fix this is to get a new bung and solder it on (with a torch and solder, it's pretty easy) or take it to a radiator shop and have them do it.

Alternatively you can just solder what you've got there back on, never touch it again, and in the future drain the system via the lower hose.

·
Registered
it's almost a alfa romeo spider
11,049 Posts
i would just get a small copper patch, and solder it on.. you can do it at home with a propane flame.....if you ever need to drain the rad. to remove it.. just take lower hose off. lift rad. out and tip it over to remove the rest of the coolent.. cost? if you have a propand flame.. a samll copper patch// less than a few dollars

·