Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,456 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to learn about GTV brake upgrades. Alfarace on yahoo talked about it but I started reading about it to late. Lets start with Calipers, anyone know of bigger and better calipers that fit on GTVs? Who makes them? I heard theres a VW caliper that fits a GTV is that true? Do brake pads actually help or does it come down to the caliper? Any bigger, better ventalated rotors? Do people upgrade their master cylinders? Why put steel braded brake lines?

I have basic knowledge about brake systems, but as far as upgrades/modifactions I dont have a clue. Can anyone provide some good information which would help me and a few aswell? Thanks!

·
Premium Member
6,681 Posts
brakes

sniady...

there are a few calipers that fit the gtv. a popular one amongst alfa racers is the vw bus caliper. it uses the same pads, just has bigger pistons. of couse bigger calipers help but pads can make a huge difference as well. i make vented front rotors for alfa's that have use bigger and lighter brake calipers. i am currently having some made up with aluminum hubs. earl's performance products makes steel brake lines for alfa's.

see you at the track sunday. i'll show you one of the set ups i have on a gtv i am taking up, i am sure you will like it.

anthony

p.s. bring the gtv, not the trooper!

·
Admin
4,862 Posts
BREMBO! PERIOD! J/K

Good thread guys. I'll try to take some good detailed shots of brake setups at the Willow Springs race this weekend and post them ASAP.

·
Premium Member
1,456 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
vw bus?

Any years VW bus's calipers will work? Hmmm I could probably find a few of those at a junk yard and if not probably for super cheap from a old vw parts supplier. Good to know thanks. Whats Earl's Performance shop located?

I got a list of thing I want done to my car with numbers so I don't forget about them once I get my hands on some MONEY!