Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow alfa enthusiasts. I am new to alfas but the alfa bug has bitten me and I'm looking for an Alfa Romeo to purchase and use pretty much daily as I believe that a car deserves to be driven. I just want to drive it more than people with their sanity. :) Mainly, I am looking at the classy and classic 105/115 series coupes. (1300,1600/1750/2000/etc.) Anyways, I am curious as to which engine, model year, etc, anything, would be best for use as a daily driver. Which engine size is best fro the balance of reliability and power. Anything at all. Something that does not require constant repairs.
(Don't worry though, I am not the kind of person who doesn't like getting their hands dirty. (I have a Land Rover Defender as my other driver))
Any advice is appreciated!

·
Administrator
16,985 Posts
Welcome. Where are you located? That would affect what models are available to you.

In the USA I'd suggest a Series 3 or Series 4 Spider. They have EFI and are generally reliable if well maintained. Or a Milano or 164 if you want a steel roof and four doors. Alfa left the USA in 1994 so there are a lot of later models we know little about.

·
Registered
2,021 Posts
I'm going to say Milano/75 because I've been doing it for 17 years.
Adequate power and torquey ( good in traffic) AC and four doors. Left me stranded only once (broken clutch pivot).

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
105 coupes are on fire. A great alternative is a 105 sedan. A Berlina will give you almost as much fun as a Giulia for much less. Just buy the best one you can afford...

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
Which engine would you recommend?
IMO, the 1750 (actually 1779 cc) is perhaps the best engine. Both of my Berlinas were 1969 but both had a 2L transplants by previous owners. The 2L will give more torque and hence daily drive ability but the 1750 I currently have in my Spider is revvier and more fun in the twisties.