Alfa Romeo Forums banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
1982 GTV6
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just took a lunch break to whack at a dent -- trying to re-create the crease along the front fender. Taking pictures reminded me to get this thread going with photos of the project.

I'm a complete novice at working metal, but I wasn't happy with the stud welder/slide hammer -- too many low spots between the welds. So I took out the grille and I'm working both sides of the fender with a light ball-peen hammer. I'd like to get it shaped as close as possible but don't know how perfect it needs to be before bondo goes on. Any suggestions are welcome.

A used engine arrives next week. The only other major component I need to find is a windshield.

Here is my current status:

And here are the "before" pictures:

Attachments

·
Registered
119 Posts
not a body guy but the recommendation is to use as little filler a possible, max 2mm I guess, so keep shaping the metal and using a rule to check for any highs and lows and mark them with a marker and then use hammer and dolly to correct. does take time so need to be patient. the crease will be the real challenge, from the pics you've done a fine job so far and just requires some finessing....

·
Administrator
18,168 Posts
Looks good to me. But I am not a body man either...