Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been enjoying my Jr Zagato for a few months now. Time to do a proper introduction.

According to Marco Fazio "the chassis number AR 1800499 originally corresponds to an Alfa Romeo 1300 Junior Z (105.93), manufactured on the 26th November 1970 and sold on the 29th December 1970 in Cantiano, Italy.
The body colour is white, with black skai interiors."

According to the seller the first owner of the car lived in Cagli, also in the Pesaro and Urbino province and only 10 kilometers from Cantiano, and owned the car up to 2001. The car was used sparingly and the claimed mileage at this time was 41 000 km.

The second owner had the car repainted in the original white and the engine, suspension and breaks overhauled. He then used the car even more sparingly, putting only 1200 km on the car until 2015. The ownership was then transferred to a lady who quickly sold the car to the man I bought the car from in February 2016.

I can verify the ownership history from 2001 by the computerized records, prior to that it is presumably hidden in a dusty archive.

The odometer showed close to 42 500 km when I bought the car which is very low for a 45 year old car. The general condition of the car speaks in favor of the mileage. It is essentially rust free and the interior is in very good condition (except for the sagging headliner and the carpet being scuffed and worn where people drag their foot on the inner sill when getting in and out of the car).

This car will be driven - no matter what the real mileage is - I have sofar put 700 km on it and will soon overtake the second owner!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
15,438 Posts
Except for the wheels, looks just like the one I drove around Europe before shipping it to the US in 1975. After several owners, it is now being completely restored by "braino".

Amazing that you found one in such good original condition with such low mileage.

·