Alfa Romeo Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
355 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Reciently purchased a white '77 with maroon interior in decent condition. This is my first post. Pictures tomorrow... as it is on blocks tonight.

This bulletin board is an incredible resource, and I appreciate it. Thanks for all who have dedicated their time to help those of us who have dreamed of owning an ALFA, an Italian, an exotic.

I'm a tomato farmer. Top down season is tomato season, so... soon enough, I won't be "fixing" and/or writing for 6 months or so. I'll be in the field with the green Deeres.

I've read Pat Braden's Bible, and have performed the following: engine mount replacement, transmission mount replacement, oil and fuel filter replacement, balanced the tires - and such. Basic stuff. It is on the blocks so I can change the transission fluid and make sure Spirax is in there. I would like it to shift smoother...

It runs fine, I guess. Currently has a hole in the exhaust system (front section) and therefor smells Italian. And I believe it really likes being out on the town and passing BMWs so they can smell the Italian too.

Anyone have a switch that bypasses the ignition mounted in a precarious place so thieves have a harder time stealing the car..? If so, please provide a bit of detail. I'm serious about keeping this fun car.

Don

·
Administrator
17,997 Posts
Welcome to the BB. Sounds like a nice car - we'll wait for the photos (but not too long).

Not sure where to place an anti theft switch. I suppose maybe one shouldn't post that info on an internet forum...! One possibility is to tap into the fuel pump power. No fuel = no driving. Your car may already have an intertia fuel pump shut off switch. The intent was to cut power in the event of an accident. Look for either a black plastic box about the size of a a cigarette pack on the firewall -or- a can shaped cylinder. It'll have two wires and a reset button on top.

·
Registered
355 Posts