Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to Alfa cars. I understand that, if there is such a thing, "tasteful modifications" to these cars is pretty much accepted in the Alfa community and do not materially affect desirability or resale prices. Some may actually add to value. What I am looking to better understand is what upgrades are desirable and which are tabu?

I have been looking for an original 1970-1973 GTV coupe and came upon this example which was sold months ago. However, I would like thoughts from the community on what is and is not acceptable with the car.

Here's the link:
1972 Alfa Romeo GTV 2000 ? Northeast Sportscar

I understand that this car came with original fuel injection which was replaced with dual Weber carbs. The carbs, per the listing, were sourced from Italy. Does the carb conversion hurt value or enhance it?

If anyone knows, is that an original paint color for the 1972 model year?

Does the interior look completely original to everyone?

Do the changes to the wheels or the suspension impact desirability or enhance it? Does the fuel tank changeover affect desirability at all?

All in all, it seems to be a relatively correct/intact car to my eyes. But, I need those more knowledgeable to help point out where there were changes and if these are acceptable generally or out of line.

Any input/reaction/insights are greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
871 Posts
Hi, great looking car. First of all, different people have different views on whether standard, or modified is best. My cars have always been modified, others love them to be original
In my mind, conversion to Webers is a good thing. Certainly won't harm the value.
The GTA wheels always look good , however, they look to be 6 x 14 rather than 7 x 14. Suspension changes, again are as subjective as any other mods. If done correctly they would definitely enhance your enjoyment of the car.