Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all, good day
i am new to AlfaBB but i still wanted to share my recent quest for "my" Alfa Romeo... through most of my time in Europe i have been a devoted Alfista (Giulietta, 75, 164, SZ).
just before i migrated from Switzerland to the US in the late 90's, i bought a SZ which i then had to sell as i could not maintain it from a far. in recent weeks, i have managed to locate "my" SZ - but the quest for introducing, testing, emmissions, conversions etc in the US is impossible to complete. all i could do is import it and get a "Show Room Title" for it....
i understand that there are 2 or 3 SZ in the US and maybe any of the member of this group know where they are? maybe just looking at it will convince me that owning it again will be enough.... thank you! - Auguri a tutti gli Alfisti che curano e mantengono queste opere d'arte..!!

·
Registered
805 Posts

·
Registered
4,631 Posts
There are more than 2 or 3 in the U.S. Most of the owners stay to themselves and are contacted by those that know they have them for conventions or concours; not all but most, simply because they don't want to be bothered by lookie-loos and tire-kickers, when they are not interested in selling their car.

I agree the import restrictions are very severe, expensive, and time-consuming to bring a car in from overseas. Some areas are easier to import into than others, but you are fighting both the Federal requirements and State requirements. State requirements are of less concern because of the age of the vehicle, except in states that mandate annual inspections.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
hi Cheryl
one of these days i will own a "il mostro" again...! it is a long, windy and uphill quest, but i will get there eventually.