Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, once again -
My current jetronic investigation has me looking at my air flow meter. Since I've owned the car, I've noticed a very slight hesitation when pressing the throttle, particularly when pressing it hard. I'd always assumed it was a sticky throttle linkage, but now have other thoughts.
I had the hood open this morning and noticed that when I stepped on the accelerator, there was: a very slight and brief hissing sound (like listening to the throat of a carburetor), brief hesitation and the square-ribbed hose convulsing (actually constricting slightly I think). It feels like the flap inside isn't opening enough and the engine is strangling a little. This is kind of in sync with the previous problem of the car spontaneously dying, but restarting with full choke (AAV replacement). I took resistance measurements (from FAQ portion of site) and some seem lower than they should be, but I'm new to the multimeter, so I may be in error. It's always seemed to me that this is a fuel problem tied to an electrical problem. No simple answers with Alfa, right?
Anyway, is there any kind of serviceable stuff inside? It looks like PO removed the plastic cap at some point and resealed it with clear silicone. Just wondering.:001_huh:
The more I think about it, the more this feels like the source of a problem (maybe the source of the problem!?)
Just out of curiosity, could this be an injector issue instead

Thanks in advance, guys!

ps: will try to get a photo of the Italian mistress later today:p

·
Registered
7,548 Posts
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
if it has been siliconed, some PO has been in there......probably to adjust the sweep arm onto a new track. Has the factory tamper proof plug been 'tampered' with also?
see Eric's post here...
http://www.alfabb.com/bb/forums/1055716-post9.html
Wow! You guys are SO awesome! I needed to buy RTV anyway, so this works out well.