Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi
I am new to this and this is my first post on this great website.
I am hoping that someone out there can help with what I think is a fuel injection problem.

The car starts up hot or cold with no problem but will only run for about 5 mins and then the engine stops. Before the engine stops, you seem to get a squealing noise coming from the fuel pump so first of all I investigated the fuel pump and fuel lines which were all fine apart from the return to the tank which seems to have a blockage. So, what I done as an experiment is ran a hose from the fuel regulator direct into the tank filler neck and then the engine runs fine. I am wondering therefore is there any kind of valve inside the tank whch opens and closes to release pressure? The car is fitted with a standard Bosch injection system and is a UK spec car.
The car hadn't run for approx. 4 yrs up until 6 weeks ago but I did flush the system through before starting.
Any advice greatly appreciated, thanks, Ian

·
Registered
324 Posts
there are both inward and outward vent valves in the tank, you need to check both, a stuck inward vent valve will cause the tank to vacum, the fuel pump wont cope with that. try running the car with the fuel cap off and the original regulator hose attached. if it runs ok, then you have a defective inward venting.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for that info, unfortunately it will be a few weeks now before I will be able to test that as the car is currently undergoing a restoration. But before everything was stripped off I wanted to overcome all the mechanical gremlins (siezed clutch, broken fuel pump and a few electrical issues) The car is due to go into the Paint Shop in the next couple of days and I hope to have it back this time next week in gleaming NERO MET ready for me to rebuild it.