Alfa Romeo Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4,353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am FINALLY halfway done with my trailing arm bushing replacement (ask me for tips and pitfalls if you're contemplating this job). So far, so good, except I managed to slightly damage one of the trailing arm to bushing carrying tube brazed joints in an early unadvised attempt to press the old bushings out without proper support. I deformed the trailing arm, pulling it away from the bushing carrier by about 1/8th of the circumference.

I've never brazed (have soldered and welded). Can anyone give me advice on how to repair the damage i've done, or if its really necessary?

·
Registered
591 Posts
r-mm,

I'm no expert here, but I'd be very reluctant to try to repair a major suspension component once it's been tweaked. Trailing arms are relatively cheap and available, I'd look for a replacement. Try Larry at Alfa Parts Exchange. If you don't have any luck, I might have an extra one sitting around the garage. BTW, where are you located?

Best regards,

·
Registered
4,353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm In CT. I don't see any reason it can't be repaired... plus I have a lot of hours (and one new bearing) into the arm.

·
Registered
4,353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
They are so lousy (cell phone)... I'll go with my real camera this weekend.

From my web research it seems that mild steel is most often brazed with flux and brass (or other yellow metal) rod. If I heat the work up enough to braze the damaged area, will I melt out the existing filler metal?

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,754 Posts
I'm not an expert but it would seem to me that the lateral load on this sleeve would be very small. Its purpose is to support a bushing that takes high up/down and fore/aft loads. Damage to 1/8 of its circumference-repaired - should insignificant.