Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I posted before the buffetting by the wind with the top down is a problem for the wife's ears(it's tough getting old). I have also read many posts about how difficult it is to carry on a conversation or hear the radio with the top down. Will I finally setteled on a solution that works for me and it's legal in Mississippi.

I installed an intercom. I adapted an aviation intercom but I'm sure that one for a motorcycle would work just fine. The key to being legal is that the driver must have 1 ear uncovered so they can hear what is going on around the car. I'm not sure how motorcycle riders get away with speakers in both ears and the ghetto cruisers blasting their mega bass but that's another thread.

Since I am a recovering pilot I had some aircraft intercom stuff that I was nolonger using for flying so I put it to work in the Alfa. What I found is that a Softcomm ATC2 intercom fits very nicely into the hole in the console for the ash tray. I just popped the intercom out of it's case and Velcoed the intercom into the hole. To power the intercom I just soldered 2 wires onto the back of the 12 volt aux power plug and wired that into a switched power source on the car. Next I tapped into the wires that feed the rear radio speakers so I could plug in the plug that would normally go to the aircraft radio so I could hear my favoriate tunes. If you don't have a radio the intercom will work just fine as a stand alone unit.

For my application any aviation headset will work. In this case I chose some light weight headsets that I got on eBay. The wife's has two speakers and mine has one. Both headsets have a microphone.

Voila! Now I can protect the wife's ears, carry on a conversation, and hear my favoriate tunes with the top down. It works even better with the top up. All in all it makes for a very plesant afternoon cruise.