Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Purchased an 86 Spider Quadrifoglio in September. New to this board and feel lucky to join this forum. My background is with german cars, older Porsches and BMW's. Bought this car for a fun driver.

Had a leak in the upper radiator tank seam. While I had it out, I noticed that there was no fan belt on the AC compressor. Some PO has cut the wire for the magnetic clutch. Applied 12v to the remaining wire stub and the clutch actuated. Have to wonder if the compressor is operational. Does anyone know the color of the wire to the mag clutch? Have a possible blue wire with "bullet" connector in the area coming from wire bundle behind the ac airdryer/coil. Can anyone identify the watch battery sized component with the two black wires coming from the same wire bundle? ( I have included pictures. I already know you like pictures)

I would be so thankful if someone would send me one on PapaJams wiring diagrams for an 86 Spider quadrifoglio. This is my first post so perhaps someone could email a copy to [email protected].

I am looking forward to participating with such a knowledgable and cordial group.
Mike Sulley

Attachments

·
Registered
2,219 Posts
Hello Mike, and welcome to the BB! The device with the two wires looks like a freeze sensor or contact temp sensor of some type. Not sure... The wire lead to the AC compressor on my '91 Spider is green.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello Mike, and welcome to the BB! The device with the two wires looks like a freeze sensor or contact temp sensor of some type. Not sure... The wire lead to the AC compressor on my '91 Spider is green.
Thanks alfaloco, I appreciate your quick response. Mine could almost be blue-green. The “bullet” connector seemed logical as a way to connect to the compressor’s stock mag clutch wire.