Alfa Romeo Forums banner

Abandoned Alfa Romeo Advice

2K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  Tom Frasca 
#1 ·
My next door neighbor had an 1984 Spider Veloce (I think) abandoned at his shop. It's been sitting out for a couple years, so there's rust (not frame that I can tell), a not so impressive paint job, crappy carpet, bad upholstery, and missing keys. Top still keeps it dry, tires hold air, and the engine doesn't seem to be seized. I'm currently working through the local court/police to re-title it. He wants to get rid of it...

I'm new to the Alfa scene, but enjoy working on cars. Any advice on where to start? I'm thinking getting new keys is the priority... But I'm going to get it up in the air tomorrow and give it a thorough inspection.

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is the wrong place to post.

[pics below]

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome to the asylum.

Rust is the biggest killer of these cars. There is no frame - it is a unibody (the body structure itself is the frame). The floors & sills/rockers make up the main structural strength of the car. Any of this is repairable but often at significant cost. The general rule is that any rust you see is 1/3rd to 1/10th of what is actually there. Not trying to dissuade you just making sure you enter into this with open eyes.

I suggest you contact a local Alfa club. The members there are likely able to help you check out this gem. And, they might even know of better prospects - it's been said that occasionally an Alfa owner will actually sell one of their cars (they all own more than one...). Usually that is to finance the purchase of another Alfa - Always Looking For Another.

#4 ·
Thank you for the quick replies and welcomes!