Alfa Romeo Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi Everyone

my forst post here.. im new to Alfa, coming from having owned Marcos, Ginetta, alpine-renaults..

i just sold my '77 alpine renault and im kinda decided now on having a GTA rep to run along side my '63 ginetta G4 race car

It will be road/track day car. I really like the wide body flared arches look, but i want a step nose car.. So would i be right in saying that the step nose cars that wore arches were GTA 1300 juniors and not the larger engined variants .??

If so, would it be a bad idea to make a flared step nose and run it with 2litre for reliability/performance...?
is it a shame to have to cut the arches if they are good..
are tyres for the 8-9 inch wide rims gonna be extremely expensive..?
would it be wiser/more desirable to keep the car with standard bodywork..?

i may have found a donor, a '71 GT junior..
help with the above appreciated, thanks for any advice :)

shad

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
hi guys

thanks for the opinions

i went to see the white one for sale in london.

But i think id rather spend a bit more and have it done how i want. I wont be doing the work myself though..

I also feel it may be a shame to convert a nice car, but the replica will still hold its value and appear to others if i ever came to sell it.

I want a 2litre for power, but did the step-nose wide body ever run with a 2litre engine?

the 13x8 wheels that would be used for the build, Can anyone tell me what tyres this would need. i guess 225 45 13?

The alternative ofcourse would be a GTA replica without the flares... maybe this would be less controversial?

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·