Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening everybody,
By way of introduction, my name is Angus. I'm a mechanically literate (but not fluent) individual who has just probably bitten off more than they can chew.
The title of this thread is alluding to both me on this forum, and the '71 1300GT Junior sitting in my shed. The business I run (and spend too much time in the office of) has just been shuttered given this pandemic, so it was fortunate that just before all that happened, I bought this car. Now is the perfect time for me to begin to tackle it. I'm new to Alfas (having always had BMWs as my fun cars) and have always lusted after a 105 but put them in the 'can't afford' basket. This car came up at an opportune time (and price), so I snapped it up and now intend to dive down the rabbit warren of learning about getting it going again.
I should preface this thread with the fact that I'm not interested in garage princesses or being worried about scratching them every time I walk past them (I have an M3 for that), and have a real appreciation of classics being used. As such, I'm very interested in retaining this car's patina and character (but am aware that further exploration into the body may mean it's just going to be better to have it media blasted and do a proper resto on it), whilst removing the rust in the sills, driver and passenger floors and in the (assumed) base of the A pillar. I hate the term 'rat rod', but heading in that direction with a rebuilt (and 'woken up') motor and refreshed brakes, suspension and driveline certainly has its appeal. The car came with a 1750 motor in it, but came with its original 1300 motor as well.
I'm comfortable with a TIG torch in my hand, but have no sheet metal experience (and am looking forward to learning). I have removed the 1750 motor and transmission and I'm about to build a rotisserie to put the car on to address the rust.