Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

Registered
1987 Quad
Discussion Starter #1
My experience with British Cars, specifically Healeys and Jags, is that I could find most every part I needed, but often the replacement part, while functional, did not fit well or at all. Sometimes the replacement was just clearly of poor manufacturing quality.

What is the state of affairs with Alfa Spider Parts? High quality and good fit as original or .... my guess is that some items are spot on while others not so good, but I have no experience and would appreciate hearing from you.

For example, I don鈥檛 know that I will need these, but if I were to order a radiator and/or a fuel tank do they look right and fit? I almost always prefer to recondition my original parts when possible but there are times when that just won鈥檛 work or it is just so much easier to install a new one.

Finally, one more question. My car was repainted to a high standard back in 1999. Paint is still quite good with nice shine. However, the engine bay firewall and valances, while the same color as the exterior, appear flat as if no clear coat was applied. I am sure that the engine bay was not sprayed when the exterior was repainted. What is the engine bay paint supposed to look like? Glossy like the exterior or perhaps not flat, but without much shine to it?

Thanks for the advice on parts and paint.

Lin

Premium Member
My experience with British Cars, specifically Healeys and Jags, is that I could find most every part I needed, but often the replacement part, while functional, did not fit well or at all. Sometimes the replacement was just clearly of poor manufacturing quality.

What is the state of affairs with Alfa Spider Parts? High quality and good fit as original or .... my guess is that some items are spot on while others not so good, but I have no experience and would appreciate hearing from you.