Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an automotive tech that works for an idependent shop in the Dallas area. Usually, I work on high-end German makes (certified on Mercedes). About 6 or 8 weeks ago an exasperated client, new to the area, brought an early production '91 164L to us because it was cutting out/bucking/stumbling on acceleration. The symptom would start about 4,000rpm, give or take, and once it would start, it would not stop until you let off the gas, at which point, once the rpms came down some, you could ease back into it. Occasionally, the symptom doesn't occur at all and it'll pull strongly to redline. I have checked all of the grounds that I can find to check and have pulled out the Motronic module and clean the contact pins on the module as well as on the plug. I have put in a new coil, at least for test purposes and I have also replaced the RPM sensor as I found the old one with a dinged casing. All to no avail. I have spoken with the technician that she was using where she moved from, who is quite familiar with the car and he suggested that a wire or harness was chafed and so was shorting to ground causing a loss of power to the Motronic module (the reason the tachometer bounces/dies when it acts up). Not sure I completely agree, but am out of options, I re-checked the grounds and find them to be visually intact. I only have two service books for the 164 which I've borrowed from another independent here, but some of the notes from one don't correspond to the other so I figure there are other books I don't have. I have other diagnostic equipment such as a Bosch KTS300, but don't know where the diag connector is, if there even is one (her previous tech said there isn't one). I also have a Bosch interface (like a socket box) for the Motronic unit where I can plug in between the Motronic and the harness, both of which are new to me as I came from a dealership. The CEL has never come on (even w