Alfa Romeo Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie here, so forgive me if I missed anything in my searches of previous posts. I recently acquired a 1986 Spider Veloce with 39K miles in great shape. The engine is all stock and well maintained. Modifications by previous owner include bolt-on frame stiffener, racing suspension springs, headers with straight exhaust. The engine and transmission mounts have been replaced recently, the steering linkages have been rebuilt/restored, and the trailing arm bushings replaced. It has a new top and the seat cushions have been replaced. I just had a new stereo put in it because the old Alpine had blown speakers and I wanted something that plays cds and has and ipod port.
My plan is to do some performance upgrades to the engine. I am looking to have a local machinist port the heads, and I have a good mechanic lined up to install racing cams and some forged pistons. I am looking for suggestions for other internal engine upgrades to increase the horsepower. I also need some suggestions on how to tune the ingnition and fuel injection. Can the stock computers be tuned, or should I invest in new ignition and fuel injections systems so it can all be tuned to the mechanical upgrades? By the way it is equipped with the Bosch L-jetronic system, not SPICA.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Eric,