Alfa Romeo Forums banner
1 - 20 of 163 Posts

·
Premium Member
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I bought two Alfa Spiders about one year ago. I drive one on a regular basis and I restore the other one during my spare time. With three young children, I can tell you that the project is going slowwww ! With two Spiders I can drive one now and take my time to restore the other as I want.

The goal is to rebuild a complete car, learn, have fun and one day drive the car I was dreaming about when I was sixteen. It's not my first project. I've been working on cars as an hobby for 20 years, but I never did a complete tear-down project.

Here is the project:

A 86 Spider I bought $1200 in the USA in May 2008.

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Regularity rally Classic car

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Steering wheel Steering part

The body is not too bad, but there is some rust: spare wheel well, rocker panels, left floor pan and some minor spots elsewhere. The interior is bad, dirty, large cracks on dash, etc.

Mechanically, the car has 60K miles, engine has good compression but oil in coolant liquid. The car was not running when I bought it but the engine started before I removed it from the car. Nothing electric is working ! I don't care about that for now... I already rebuilt the gearbox and it is in my other Spider... the test is done, I know I can rebuild an Alfa gearbox with success ! Over 12K miles without any problem !

First step was to remove the interior:

Land vehicle Vehicle Car Steering wheel

Urban area Scrap Engine Auto part Machine

That's the easy part... removing and taking notes of everything. I have now over 300 part numbers with notes.

Automobile repair shop Vehicle Car Automotive exterior Bumper

It tooks about three days to remove all the interior and the engine with gearbox.

More to come...

Dominic

·
Premium Member
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Floor pan and spare wheel well