Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

Thanks to all the help on the board I think I have most of the gnd problems cleared up and I am able to start my beloved Spider.

I know it is fuel injected but should I have to hit the gas pedal at all prior to starting or should she start and turn over without having to hit the gas pedal at all .

Seems like I have to "assist her " by hitting it once or twice or am just imagining that ?

Thanks again for all of the help

Now I am chasing an intermittent condition with the lightswitch stalk so I will have to investigate that as well. Can I clean the contacts without taking switch out or will I have to take steering column and wheel off to check her out and clean her up .

Thanks again guys for all of the fantastic help you have given me. Bear with me ..I am a newbie to the Spider but thanks to you folks am learning more and more every day

Rick

·
Registered
6,087 Posts
You should never have to depress the gas pedal when starting your '84 Spider. The Bosch EFI system should take care of feeding the proper amount of gas. When cold, the coolant temperature sensor should send a signal to the ECU so that additional gas is delivered through the cold start injector and the car will rev higher for a few minutes, and then settle down to its normal idle... In a properly working car, if you depress the pedal when trying to start it, you will not just interfere and impede the start, but you will also flood it...

Best regards,

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks re gas pedal start

Enrigue,

Thanks I thought that was probably the case. Should she fire right up or will it take a few short turns of the key ..or should I just turn the key once and with till it fires up . Again thanks for your patience with me...in a while I will not have to ask all of these newbie questions-smile