Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On my Spider that I bought as a project, I'm having a bit of an issue. I'm a FIAT mechanic, and this is a bit different, lol. When I turn the key to on, fuse number 7 blows every time. What does this fuse do? Also, My inline pump, a jerry rigged Mallory hi-performance pump, is getting NO power whatsoever. Fuel from the in-tank pump is getting there, but this pump isn't pumping... whatsoever. I took the pump off and crossed the leads onto the battery, and the pump itself works brilliantly. Some genius extended the fuel pump wires to reach the pump, and I don't know if the correct wire is going to the correct wire. Is fuse number 7 fuel pump power? It'd be nice if my 2 issues are compounded with one fix..ha.. thanks much. Another question, while asking things here... Where is the headlight switch???? I CAN'T FIND IT ANYWHERE!!!! lol Thanks again

·
Registered
1,243 Posts
Fuse 7 should power the reverse lights. The pump fuse should be behind the pass seat under the package shelf (at least in the L-jet models). Headlight switch shouyld be on the left side of the steering wheel behind the turn signal switch (it is a rotary switch)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thanks for the reply, and the info on the headlight switch... The lights themselves are disconnected so it makes finding the proper switch rather difficult..ha.. Ok, someone has been in the fuse pump control area on my car and spliced a couple wires. A red wire was cut, and has a wire with 2 fusable links added to it.. the fuses are good, and the pump relay clicks when the car turns to on, ye the main in-line pump gets no power whatsoever... any ideas?? I put a light tester on the wire connected to the positive side of the pump, and it had power going to it

·
Registered
1,243 Posts