Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to mechanical fuel injection, just wondering what fuel pressure/flow these fuel pumps produce. Canadian market '76 and '78 Alfetta 2L sedans.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
16,166 Posts
I remember something about the under the car pump supplying 80 psi to the Spica pump. Others may know for sure.

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
re: SPICA system-
The fuel pressure switch (red light on the dash) turns off at 7-9 psi so 80 psi is a little high.
If the light stays on after start up then check out cause of low pressure.
#1: check filter(s), the most likely problem

·
Premium Member
16,166 Posts
I do remember reading some time ago that the pump was supposedly rated at something like 80 psi in order to provide the very high flow rate required for fuel and pump cooling. The actual pressure may not be that high in the line; however, a very high volume pump is required in order to make sure the flow rate is high in this bypass fuel line system, ie, the excess fuel returning to the tank, providing the necessary cooling.

Just think, if you have a Montreal, you get to use two of these no longer manufactured pumps.

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
I cannot find anything stating fuel pressure. However, the Ingram Manual says the fuel pump should deliver a minimum of 0.6gpm. 0.5gpm or less and you should replace the pump. So, like Del stated, gpm is the important thing as a faulty pump can have good pressure but not delivering the quantity of fuel required.
Several sources state if the pump has low pressure "have it serviced".
Centerline and Spruel Motorsports sell replacement fuel pumps. The fuel pump that came with SPICA systems does not exist so a different pump is supplied.
The fuel injection pump does operate at huge pressure, 350psi per Ingram. With that high pressure that's probably why Ingram recomends servicing the injectors every 25 years.

Sources: Ingram SPICA Manual (a must have)