Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings ... I have a master cylinder kit for the above mentioned Alfa and I have a few questions. Referring to the photo:

1. I can't figure out where the rubber washer (plunger ?)
with the question mark goes. I do not remember if it
had one or where it went when I took it apart.

2. How do I get the other rubber "washers" on where the
old ones are now. "In the old days" we just used to
slide the old ones off and slide the new one's on. I
don't want to try it until I'm sure.

3. After I get the washers on I would like to slide the
mechanism into the cylinder. Should I use some brake
fluid to lubricate the inside of the MC first?

I'm over 65 and of all the things I've lost I
miss my mind the most.

thanks in advance and take care ... Vic

PS ... any ideas where I can get a good DVD manual
on the Alfa. I've seen them advertised but not
in the detail of a disassembled master cylinder etc.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,087 Posts
master cylinder assembly q's

1. I don't know

2. It should come apart more, see picture. the picture is from a Milano/75 manual but is almost identical to an image I have from an Alfetta (see attached pdf) manual and from what I can remember, the Spider also.

After a bit of searching I did find a Spider manual on the web, in Italian. But a picture is worth a mille parole! See the other attached pdf.

3. Yes, lubricate with fresh brake fluid or go to the autoparts store for brake assembly lube. I always got a little plastic "grape" or "olive" filled with fluid or grease for assembly. Guess not any more.

4. I know you didn't ask a 4th question, but investigate bench bleeding before reinstalling your master cylinder.

Attachments

·
Registered
318 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks very much, much appreciated !!

Just a quick note to say thanks for all the reply's 'specially 86Spider for his picture ... very, very helpful.