Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, GUYS!

I am new to the Alfa community, and I have to say that it's a great family to be in. I get stopped at traffic lights and chased across parking lots by fellow Alfa owners wanting to say 'hi' and chat it up.

I'm currently working on a car that I have liked since I was a kid and always lusted after (ok, really close second to a real-deal GTAm in my Alfa loves) a '71 GTV with a well sorted motor. What a fantastic driving car, and really a pleasure and trill above 4k RPM!

I'm converting it from a street car that was a little mis-matched to a street/LIGHT track car that is ideal for road rallies or just a Sunday open lapping day. With that I'm putting in a ATL fuel cell, and need to get the sending unit right this time. I ordered, had it arrive, did all the prep work, and realized I should not have been placing orders for CUSTOM parts while on my commute from memory. Usually, it's a flawless system, but this one type (OF COURSE!) had to be for something I can't return... a VDO calibrated sending unit for an ATL fuel cell (FOR SALE... BTW). I was working on a TVR Griffith and a few others of the 60s-70s that the VDO stuck out in my mind, not Veglia Borletti.

What I need is the EXACT Ohm range for my existing gauge, so that I can keep the looks of the interior fairly stock and spartan. I have read the posts on here and on the Lancia Stratos site (they also used V.B. gauges), and I cannot get a clear answer. Worse yet I don't have a working sender. It only partially works, and is crap, at best. The few cryptic readings I'm able to get from the sender bench testing it (yes, I did clean it and bend the pins to help it out) seemed to be reverse of what I've read on here.

Q: What is the Ohm range (empty and full) for the Veglia Borletti guage for a 1971 Alfa GTV?