Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi AlfaBB,

I'm just getting into the restoration of my newly acquired 67 Sprint GT Veloce and have some questions about fender cutting and when to media blast. My intention is to do a rotisserie restoration. While I've done some extensive reading on the BB about other's experiences, I need some clarification on the following:

-Fenders (or wings)- I anticipate needing to replace the radiator support, lower wings and sills. My first thought is to remove the car's front sheet metal so they can be media blasted all at once. Should I cut the wings and sills off before the car leaves to be media blasted?

-Fender Cutting- Exactly where should the horizontal sheet metal cut be made to remove the lower part of the fender? Is it 12" from the bottom of the fender?

-Fenders and Valance- I intend to re-use my front fenders, step nose and valance. Is it reasonable to keep these four pieces connected while being removed from the car for media blasting? Is the process simply drilling the spot welds and grinding the seam welds for removal?

-Cutting Tool- Is a 4 1/2" angle grinder with a cut off wheel the best tool to cut these panels? If not, what does everyone use?

-Body Restoration Order of Operations-
1. Strip car of parts including front fenders and sills.
2. Mount car on rotisserie.
3. Media blast entire car.
4. Etch prime entire car.
5. Repair/replace sheet metal defects found from media blast.
6. Paint the car.

Anyone disagree with this order? Thanks in advance and looking forward to your thoughts.

·
Registered
3,376 Posts