Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a '74 2000 GTV and it has a clunk in the drivetrain. I thought it was a universal joint - sounds a bit like someone tapping the driveshaft with a hammer. The driveshaft is now rebuilt and the clunk remains. Have traced it to the rear axle and it seems to be related to takeup in the diff. It has a limited slip diff and someone has suggested its normal - anyone know more about diff clunks in LSDs?

·
Registered
276 Posts
Hi,

I'm no expert but it would help those of us who are if you give more details of the problem. It shouldn't be normal unless it is a tight LSD but this doesn't sound like your issue.

Is it only when you move off from standstill, or maybe brake?
Is it only when you turn hard?
Is it there all the time?
Really loud so your head hurts or just barely noticeable?
Is it a regular sound (steady or faster with speed) or only happens every now and again?

I'm sure you'll get your answers. There are plenty of Alfa doctors on here but you need to give them your symptoms.

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
I have the same issue and will be interested to see what the problem actually is, I have replaced my prop bearing support, my universal Joint and the issue still persists and I don't have an LSD by the way.

·
Registered
180 Posts
I have a '74 2000 GTV and it has a clunk in the drivetrain. I thought it was a universal joint - sounds a bit like someone tapping the driveshaft with a hammer. The driveshaft is now rebuilt and the clunk remains. Have traced it to the rear axle and it seems to be related to takeup in the diff. It has a limited slip diff and someone has suggested its normal - anyone know more about diff clunks in LSDs?
Normal, no. Common, yes. Does it clunk as you let out the clutch from standstill and when applying throttle after gearchange?
If so, I would suspect diff pinion backlash.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6