Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there ;)

I am relatively new to Alfas (I am only 20 y.o) and I have been looking for a GTV for a year now and it appears I have found one. It is a 2000 GTV that's currently for sale in Belgium. According to the owner, it was first registered May '72. It appears it has been restored (i.e. exhaust manifold looks like new, probably because it is new... and the rest of the car is superb).

However I saw a couple of things that were wrong about this car, for example, the two C-pillar serpent badges are missing and the "disegno di Bertone" is on the driver's side of the car. There should be only one on the passenger side. The engine plate is missing as well (this tells me that the bloke who was responsible for the stripping/paint was not careful enough). Anyway...

I know it is supposed to be a 2000 from 72. It has the rear lights from a 2000, the grille, the dash, the seats etc but what if it is a 74-onwards GT junior that's been converted to a 2000. I guess the VIN and Marco from Automobilismo Storico Alfa Romeo will give me those answers.

But since it was probably restored, maybe the owner changed the Diff. I'd like to know how to determine if the diff on the car is a LSD or just a traditional locked one. I have never seen one but I think there should be a V. "Normal ones" only have a plus "+", right?
I have those informations from the thread: how to identify an LSD?
http://www.alfabb.com/bb/forums/milano-75-1985-1993/51915-how-identify-lsd-limited-slip-differential-2.html
But Alfar7 is talking about a US-spec car, is this the same for Euro cars?

I will be posting more pics of the car if I buy it.
Thanks

·
Premium Member
21,688 Posts
LS diffs, at least in the US, have two angled fins on the rear underside behind the sump, and a little extension on the front under the pinion flange. Non LS are straight across there. Any US 2000 will have come with LS.

Andrew

·