Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now that I have installed a Chevy rear end in the car, I'm convinced the car is well sorted out and dead reliable. Since I am really a car builder, I am ready to move on to the next project. It's been a blast to drive for the last two years, and I hope someone else will enjoy it, too. For those of you that haven't followed my journey, here are the two threads on the subject. The first is the original, the second is the update:

V-8 Build

V-8 Update

More detail and price are in the "update" thread. Thanks, guys.

Steve

direct e-mail is [email protected]

Attachments

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
V-8 Spider

I finally got time to list the car on eBay. The ad got a little screwed up, some my fault, some eBay's, but I hope nobody holds that against me. Let's see what happens in the next several days.

V-8 Spider eBay Listing

-Steve

·
Registered
3,152 Posts
Good luck! Nice job by the way, purists be gone!

One question: did you reinforce the front "frame" any. S4 spiders are famous for needing some extra welding up there, mainly cause of power steering. The V8 would only add to the stress, I think.

·
Registered
3,152 Posts
Steve says the whole package is 40 some odd pounds lighter than the S4 started out.

·
Registered
115 Posts
When building mine... My friend dared me to drop my 351W into it... surprisingly it fit very well. What stopped me was the gear box in the #8cyl exhaust port and having to cut the tunnel out. Opted for fast and easy and stuck with the stock motor. But now as the stock motor has met its end... I am thinking a nice little 347 stoker with a almost stock cam and such may be just the ticket... Very beautiful work by the way. Nice and clean. Would love to see the engineering on the brakes and more details on the rack and pinion work. Thanks for Sharing!!

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
V-8