Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have found what looks to be a decent 1981 within 3 hours of me. I am hesitant because it is the last year of the series 2 and that it's performance might be quite hindered compared with earlier years or later years. In short, is 1981 the worst year to buy?

What should I look for as far as modifications that could have been made and how to tell? I'm new to Alfas after many years in old land cruisers (I just sold my 1962 Toyota Land Cruiser) so I am used to slow vehicles but going to a sports car, don't want to be disappointed.

One reference that I've been using is here.

Thanks,
Eric

·
Administrator
17,517 Posts
I wouldn't say it is the worst year to buy, perhaps not as desirable as other years because that last version of the SPICA system was least powerful as they modified it to pass stricter emissions requirements.

As with any old car and especially an Alfa, rust tends to be the biggest killer. Rust in the sills/floors is significant as that is where the Spider's unibody gets much of it structural strength.

Any evidence of overheating? That can be either the cause or the effect of a failed head gasket.

As for a SPICA car, they should start easily hot or cold and run well. If they don't be aware repairs to SPICA can be expensive - especially if it has been messed with by someone with no experience with the system.

·
Premium Member
2,623 Posts