Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to replace this cylinder tomorrow. I would appreciate any advice anyone might have.
I have a new slave cylinder and hose. I am replacing the the old cylinder because it was leaking at the rubber boot and the clutch worked inconsistently.
This is my first attempt at mechanical work on my Spider.
Thanks

·
Administrator
16,377 Posts
The slave cylinder is held onto the bell housing by a pair of large circlips. Get a quality circlip plier. Wire brush the circlip area and give it a squirt of penetrating oil (I like PB Blaster).

When installing the new cylinder note that it can rotate in the mounting area. Make sure the bleed screw is at the top - 12 o'clock - so all the air can be expelled.

Bleeding sometimes is easy but sometimes it takes a long while (plus a few swear words).

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the advice on the installation.
Lino Durante at Alfa of Tacoma Ltd, (253) 572-Alfa in Tacoma Wash was very helpful. He knew exactly what I was talking about when I called. He supplied the new cylinder and hose for $124.00 US and then I got ripped off by UPS who charged me $66.00 to bring it accross the border.

·
Premium Member
13,069 Posts
I changed out a master cylinder yesterday on a car I just bought. It was empty of fluid. I bled it on my own. I attached a piece of rubber tube to the bleed nipple and tied the open end about a foot higher than the nipple. I filled the resevoir, opened the nipple and slowly pumped the pedal about ten times. I verified that there was a puddle of brake fluid on my driveway under the open end of the tube. I tightened up the nipple and the clutch worked perfectly. I could have rigged up some kind of container to catch the fluid but I chose not to.
Ed Prytherch, Columbia SC
74 GTV
79 Spider
82 Spider (new parts car)
88 Verde

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
flambero