Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1974 Spider Veloce
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Alfa Community,

I'm a new member and the recent recipient of a 1974 Spider Veloce. I'm new to Alfa Romeo's but I have been an auto enthusiast for most of my life so working on cars is not new to me. The car is a one owner California car that has been sitting in a garage since 1987 but it appears to be complete and un-molested.
I'm going to use this thread to learn about Alfa's and to document the progress of getting the car in a running and driving condition. Please comment and give me some insight into what I have and problem areas that I should check out.

Here is a list of issues I've found so far:
-Drivers floor pan is rusted through and needs replacement
-Both rockers are rusted through and will need replacement
  • Parking brake isn't working
  • Front end drivers side has some collision damage
-Rear diff has signs of leakage
-Overall paint condition is not good
- Some electrical items not working but PO had removed fuses and unplugged a connector under the dash prior to lay up
-Tach and speedo are not testing at zero, is this normal or something that needs to be repaired? I only ask because both are at the same position so to me that indicates it might be a quirk of an Alfa.

My primary goal at this point is to get the mechanical items going prior to addressing the cosmetics. This will happen over many many months with long lapses in updates due to my job and life in general. I have a family and one other classic car that take priority over this car.

So far I have pulled the plugs on the engine and found that it turns over with no problems, that is the extent of my work so far. I need to get a fresh battery to further check it out and plan on doing a compression test once I get one.