Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been dreaming about Alfas for a few years now, and i finally bought my first Alfa. It's a pretty clean car from AZ and only has visible rust in the driver side floor pan. The paint is original and pretty dull, the interior is a mess, it needs a new top, and I'm sure there are other gremlins. Other than the routine maintenance, where should I start? This year I want to drive it some- perhaps weld in a new pan, what else should I be looking at in the near term? I don't need the car to be concourse perfect, but would like a nice example for the weekend which includes paint at some point. I used to own a fiat spider, and am able to do moderate work myself. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Where should I start?

·
Administrator
16,802 Posts
My advice is make it safe to drive - brakes, steering, suspension first. Make it reliable - electrics, cooling, fuel system next. Make it pretty as time & money allow.

A car that won't start is a nuisance. A car that won't stop is dangerous!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the advice. Makes perfect sense. Brakes first. Anything special I should know or think about with these cars?

·
Registered
700 Posts
I concur: safety & reliability first. A pretty car that won't drive or stop is a nuisance or dangerous. Get it pretty later.

BTW, I'm doing the same thing this summer on a 74. New flex brake lines, rotors & pads are at top of the list. After that, install a new SPICA pump.

Then I get to start on rust, interior, etc! :D

·
Premium Member
2,811 Posts
Step 1: If not already a AAA member, sign-up.

·
Registered
9,977 Posts
My advice would be to give it a complete cleaning first, top and bottom. Then compound out the paint and make it as good looking as practical. Clean and paint the wheels.