Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've watched this Spider fail to sell on eBay twice in the last month and, while I'm usually very suspect of cars offered on eBay, this one is parked within 25 miles of me and I can't help but be interested.

But, and this is a big 'but,' I'm a total novice when it comes to Alfas. While I've spent a good fifteen years banging around on sixties-era Fords and Chevys, the only thing I know about Alfa Spiders are how they make me drool every time that I see one on the road in Northeast Ohio (which isn't very often). So, can you helpful guys and gals that frequent this site take a quick peek at the eBay link:http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1971-Alfa-Romeo-Spyder-Convertible_W0QQitemZ110145261676QQihZ001QQcategoryZ84154QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
and tell me what you think?

Your observations, guidance, and suggestions, will be greatly appreaciated!

·
Registered
168 Posts
Go and have a look....

Since you are so close to the car you can rule out the most common reason why eBay has a bad reputation as a place to buy cars (people trying to 'sell' cars that they don't own, pocketing your deposit and dissappearing). Go and have a look at the car and see if you think it worth the money. In the end, you are the one who has to like the car.

eBay isn't all bad, I've had mostly great experiences buying used parts from people on eBay, stuff that I couldn't find elsewhere, or if I had to get new would be prohibitively expensive. Just be careful.

If the car isn't selling, it is likely because the reserve is a bit too high, or the car isn't in good enough shape to warrant the care and attention it probably needs and deserves.

For comparison purposes, there is another '71 listed here on the BBS that seems to be in better mechanical shape than the one in your 'hood.