Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. I found a 71 on Ebay locally and now have it. I guess my first question is, what are these really worth? This has bondo in it, a bit of rust in the bottom, Runs smooth, shifts nice, but needs lots of love. It was a school bus yellow at birth, now loud yellow. LOL .
Mind you I play with Porsche's normally, and just finished a 67 912. Is there anything special I should know about "Guido", quarks, normality's, issues, you know. And where is a good place for parts? I see "International" plastered all over, they good?
So, any good advice would be welcomed. I'll be asking a lot of questions in the near future.
Thanks.

mrmom
Round Rock, TX.

·
Premium Member
2,981 Posts
Post photo's and you will get a lot more comments, answers, and advice. Welcome to the ABB.

·
Premium Member
5,684 Posts
'71s are a transitional and rather unique model: They possess a lot of the features of the '69 (equally rare) such as the 1750 motor, 2 pod dash, sweeping center console and old school grille. They also share details from the later GTV2000 including large taillights and non-buttressed seats (although the pattern is unique to the '71s).

That said, there aren't a whole lot of differences in value from a step nose to a 1750GTV to a 2000GTV:

A non-running parts car: $0 - $500
Running rust buckets: $2k - $5k
Decent Drivers: $10k - $15k
Exceptional: $25k - $35k
Really Special: $45k and up

Then there are GTAs, GTaMs, etc, that can get really, really pricey.

To restore a decent, somewhat rusty but complete driver into a to be proud of range will take anywhere from $15 - $30k and up depending on what you start with, what you can do and where you live.