Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After a long hibernation of aprox 18 years I'm getting this car back on the road. I'm by no means an expert, and by all measurements an amateur, so I recommend you follow this if your want to get a confidence boost on your own skills:)

The car looks to bee in very good condition, and people with far more experience than me have concluded so as well.

Will share some pictures on the process so far, leading up to where I'm at right now.

Attachments

·
Registered
434 Posts
Good luck with the re-commission.

Looks to be a lovely car, I like silver!

Black interior?

Cheers,

Paul.

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
What's done and whats left

Welcome and congratulations. If you can use tools, you can do a lot of the work. What are your plans?
Thank you, I have some tools and share a garage with a much more skilled friend. He lends me tools and knowledge which is of grat help.
My plan is quite simply to make it a good functional driver. Not fanatical about originality, but like the idea of making it handle and drive like when they were delivered new.

This is what is have done so far over the winter:
- New refurbished calipers and new pads
- New break hoses(the short flexible ones)
- Replaced one break line on the back left as it showed signs of corrosion.
- New dyno with built in regulator
- New water-pump after the old one was leaking from the center. New hoses as well (have not fitted the one going to the heater, as heater-unit is not working at all)
- New tyres, got the PIRELLI 165HR14 CINTURATO after some arguing with my wallet (still unresolved). Really happy with how they handle and feel.
- Replaced defect coil.
- New horns and got some help getting them working.
- Got a garage to adjust camber, toe, caster (big improvement)
- GOT PLATES! Showed the car, and after som minor adjustments got it approved! I'ts not a rolling project.