Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, just beginning to have fun. My 164 will accelerate smoothly if a light touch is used on the throttle, but at medium to hard acceleration it will buck and almost die for a split second and then comes back on with lots of power for a second or two and then nearly dies again.

Ran fine for a week or so and then this started. Idle sometimes varies up and down between 600 and 1000 rpm. Right now its steady around 800.

I can't trust it to be my daily driver until I get this straightened out. Any ideas?

Capm Woody
St. Pete Beach

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
What you described are typical symptoms of an air leak - most likely there is a split at the big black rubber hose between the air filter box and the throttle!

·
Registered
87 Posts
I had a similar problem very recently and it turned out to be a bad high tension lead from the coil to the distributor. It was a very "shocking" discovery to say the least.:eek:
http://www.alfabb.com/bb/forums/164-168-1991-1995/49528-acceleration-hesitation.html

OTOH, I had a leaky intake boot some years back and it was very similar - except it was more pronounced when going around left hand corners (engine would shift ever so slightly away from air filter housing, stretching and opening the crack in the boot piece - I think)

Both are easy to check - for the intake boot just start up the engine and manhandle the rubber piece between the MAF and the TB. (note any changes in RPM - or you may actually find the crack with your hands)
For the bad ignition I do NOT recommend manhandling high voltage wires! Instead, at night or in a dark garage get a spray bottle with some water and spray the wires lightly and if you have a bad connection you will see arcing.

·
Premium Member
15,522 Posts