Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Okay so I am fairly new to the worlds of Alfa's I currently have a 1990 Porsche 944S2 that I am converting into a track car. So I am on the hunt for a new D.D On my list of cars is the 164 S or Q. I have other cars considered like the E39 BMW 540i-6, 99-01 Audi S4, and a Ford Lightning for Practically reasons. Am very familar with the German cars and the Ford as My dad has had Ford's all his life and I worked for a multi-Marque highend dealership with Porsche, Audi, M/B, Volvo and had numrious BMW's there as trade-ins.

Anyways I am coming here to ask what are some of the problems areas to look out for when consdiering a 164. I am not going to ask peoples opinion on which car is better as this is a Alfa board so I will get a bias answer:).

Looking around I believe that there is a headgasket issue? is this true. Also liek my Porsche and Ferrari's I know I have to change and inspect the Timing Belt and waterpump, but how often does one have to change the belt and waterpump? every 30, 60 or 90K? I am very mechinally incline as I do about 90% of my own work on the Porsche.

So tell me guys what is the best year to buy, what should I look out for? and how much should I pay for one. I am only considering the S or the rare Q. With a 5 speed Manual

·
Premium Member
26,810 Posts
Since you have added daily driver to your requirement list I will be biased and say don't do 164S or Q unless you find a one owner fully maintained documented 100% no fooling specimen.

The 1991-1993 164L with 5-speed or in my case 164B models are better choice for daily driver's. Easier to maintain and just as enjoyable if not more so as a daily driver.

My rule is 35k on timing belts and 70k on water pumps and tensioers on 12v engines. Maybe you can go to 45-50k and 90-100k on both 12v and 24v but scary to me. I care not to try.