Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I have a 1976 1600GTJ and I need to flush the coolant. I have never done it before on any car.

Can somebody (correctly) assume I'm an idiot and give me step by step instructions?

There is no expansion tank and I don't have a clue where drain plugs are etc.

Many thanks.

·
Premium Member
2,509 Posts
The drain plug is a brass bolt on the bottom center of the radiator, usually accessable through a hole in the radiator crossmember. You'll need the correct socket with an extension. Remove the radiator cap for a smoother flow and have a big (at least 3 gal.) tub underneath. Use distilled water with the antifreeze when replacing.

Bill

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. Seems easy!

So I don't have to drain coolant from the engine block or follow specific steps to stop air locks etc etc

I've heard all kinds of things about using Flush Fluids and hoses etc.

·
Premium Member
2,509 Posts