Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, newbie here.

Had a question want to throw. Is it possible to use liners and pistons from 2.0 to 1.8 block and does it share the same cylinder head? I'm very interested what can be done to 2.0 engine and its modification but it's quite hard to find a good solid 2.0 engine here in Indonesia. Got me an offer that somebody had a 2.0 that I can bought which I believe from an alfetta, which a following question is, does 2.0 from alfetta the same specification as 2.0 from GTVs?
The offer comes with a price of 1400-1500 US$ (rough estimation of currency conversion) for the 2.0 offered to me. Is it a 'sensible' for a 2.0 engine or is it just nuts?

Not sure if this question had been asked, did a search no avail. But my apology if had been asked. It's a learning process for me.

Andra

·
Registered
183 Posts
Hi,

I don't know about the 1.8 block, in the US market we had the 1750 and 2000 engines. The head and liners are not interchangeable. The Alfetta engine can be used in a 105 chassis, but the end of the crankshaft will need to be drilled to accept the pilot bearing for the transmission input shaft. Without knowing the condition of the Alfetta engine it's hard to know if it's worth what they want for it. If it's worn out you could easily spend $3,000 on a stock rebuild.

Dick Stachowiak

71 GTV
71 Spider

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Dick,

Yes I meant 1750. What is the current price of 2.0 engine back in the states? I believe the engine is called Nord isn't it?

Andra

·
Registered
145 Posts
Nord engine for 105 car........

Hi Dick,

Yes I meant 1750. What is the current price of 2.0 engine back in the states? I believe the engine is called Nord isn't it?

Andra
In the UK , you could get a 2000 engine /carbs for
7,027,950.oo Indonesian Rupiahs + shipping :eek:

·
Registered
470 Posts