Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a completely stock 1971 S2 spider 1750 spica injected. I'm looking to give it a little more top end, some people say go with euro cams for a decent butt dyno increase and I see Centerline has a 10.5mm cam they are calling euro plus.

My question is this: Will anything other than cam timing need to be modified in order to install and run a single 10.5mm cam on the exhaust side? Its a healthy low mileage engine (38k on the clock) and the spica is also healthy. At this moment I'm not looking to go nuts or do a wes ingram pump.

Thanks for any input in advance. I'm new to modifying alfa engines but I have experience wrenching and have a decent set of tools at my disposal.

·
Super Moderator
10,203 Posts
Alex Bassilia said:
...to install and run a single 10.5mm cam on the exhaust side
When you run mismatched cams in an Alfa, one "hotter" than the other, you typically put the hotter cam on the intake side - not the exhaust.

Will anything other than cam timing need to be modified in order to install and run a single 10.5mm cam
Most likely, your engine will handle an extra mm or so of lift with no interference problems. But no one on the internet can tell you that for certain. A lot depends on how much your head has been milled, how your valve guides are positioned, type of piston, cam timing, etc. etc.

·
Registered
1,218 Posts
I have the 11.1mm Centerline cams in both intake and exhaust position.
I had the intake cam first with the Spica exhaust cam, then added the exhaust cam. Both cams timed at 102* lobe centers.
This is on a 2.0 Spica car at 5300 foot elevation.

Runs great!!

·
Registered
58 Posts