Newbie Head Job - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 12:52 PM Thread Starter

Newbie Head Job

Hello Everyone, firs off thanks to Vin and Rich for their early guidance. I found this site thanks to Vin's "Head Gasket" thread. I myself do not own an AR, but I find myself putting one back together as it were. Since I'm a newbie here I don't know how to link things properly so allow me a little cut and paste from my first posts on Vin's thread...

I am a B- level home wrencher, I have done a head gasket replace/head planed on a Saab 900 and I have a friend with a 1987 Spider Veloce and he wanted me to do this and I said yes. Short story is I received the car with the cracked head already removed, lol. Guess someone did "half" my work. Bad news is I received all the miscellaneous parts in one big box, lol. I've sorted them and taken a photos which I hope to post. I am not a member here yet, this is a first "guest" post. Most of the pieces will be obvious to me, but I thought some of you might like to follow along this rebuild and guide me. Some questions I have since my Saab jobe didn't involve a new head: Should the head bolts be replaced (had to with the Saab)? My friend is getting a new head and having it shipped to me, should I expect it to have "manifold studs" in it, or will I have to find and buy? Should I pull and resuse the valves from the old one, or start fresh (valves scare me, lol). We'll start with this and I will register later and see if I can upload the pics I have of the miscellaneous parts all sorted out and the old head. Thank you all in advance. Oh and to add irritation from the start, I live in Hawaii, so all parts that i need will need to be shipped here, lol.

Jeff

I have another post there with beginning details and pics so i will try to link it here. Rich suggested I start this new thread, thanks Rich.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement