1974 Veloce "Full Package" - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 04-19-2019, 08:13 PM Thread Starter

Garage
1974 Veloce "Full Package"

I have just fulfilled a few of my bucket list items by getting my hands on my first Alfa, a 1974 spider. I am also a complete novice when it comes to auto repair but am excited to learn. It's been sitting for at least 6 years and so my first task (I believe) is to drain and clean the fuel tank, replace the fuel pumps, lines and injectors.

If anyone is able to share the alfa library's "full package" for a 1974 veloce, I would very much appreciate it.

Additionally, I am considering the CarDisk repair manuals unless there is a better recommendation?

Thank you for all the advice I received by reading thus far and in advance for the future...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 04-19-2019, 08:24 PM
Gold Subscriber

Garage
Welcome, we are all excited to see pictures. I'm personally happy with CarDisk, I have several. I do like a paper manual with me when I'm working but I usually pick those up on Ebay. Being in California and a 74, your car likely has Spica mechanical fuel injection still, is that true? I wouldn't rush out and change the fuel pump or the injectors right away just out of cause. Filters for sure (there are two), lines if they look like they need replacing.
Depending on the condition of things, after a clean, take the spark plugs out and squirt some oil in there to make the first several cranking operations a little kinder.

Cheers,

Carson, 4 Alfa's, 9 Cars, 4 Motorcycles
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 04-19-2019, 08:38 PM

Send a message via Skype™ to lgbalfa
Congratulations.

Looking forward to seeing pics.

1992 Alfa Romeo Spider Veloce, 2017 Alfa Romeo Giulia, 2018 Volkswagen Tiguan SEL Premium
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 05:02 AM
USTA BE AN AD-MIN