Charging System Oddity - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 06:10 PM Thread Starter
Gold Subscriber

Charging System Oddity

I've been lucky to get through 50 years of owning cars without ever having any charging system problems. As a result of this dumb luck I have no real hands on experience with alternators and the like.

My S4 voltmeter typically shows just over 12 volts upon start up and measures
12.6v at the battery with my multimeter at idle. After driving about 1 mile the voltmeter jumps up to the 13.5v range and stays there for the duration of my drive. When I'm back in the garage the battery voltage at idle shows 13.6 which I believe is just right.

The p.o. mentioned this to me and said he'd never gotten to the bottom of it.

Anyone know what's up with this?

Bill

1991 S4 Spider "Gabriela", 2017 VW Golf R, 2018 VW GTI,

Previous obsessions; 2006 Mustang GT, 2006 BMW Z4M, 5 other Bimmers, Capri V6, Renault 5, Lotus Cortina, Sunbeam Alpine, Ducati Diana Mk 3, Norton Commando
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 06:15 PM
But Mad North-Northwest
Platinum Subscriber

Sounds like the regulator is taking a bit to kick over?

Turn the key to "on" but don't start the car. Does the battery light in the upper right come on? If not you've either got a burned-out bulb or a disconnect in the wire. The regulator uses the bulb circuit as the voltage sense line, so no continuity there means it won't work right.

Tom

1963 Giulia Spider (1750 engine)
1974 GTV
1991 Spider
Former: 1987 Milano Gold
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
Gold Subscriber

Thanks for the speedy reply Tom. I just checked and, indeed, the alternator indicator does not light up. I'll check the bulb tomorrow.

Bill