Jerking While Accelerating? - Alfa Romeo Bulletin Board & Forums
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-27-2018, 08:10 AM Thread Starter

Jerking While Accelerating?

Tried to take my '82 Spider out yesterday and while it started up fine once underway it began jerking while accelerating and shifting. My first thought was water got into the gas tank, but after googling a bit (I am a rank noob when it comes to mechanical stuff) I think it might be moisture under the distributor cap. The car has been parked outside with a car cover on it while my garage is getting sorted, and there's been a bit of rain in NorCal over the past several weeks and a fair bit of condensation on the cover even when it doesn't rain. Anyone have a similar problem or think this might be it? If so I assume its as easy as marking and disconnecting the spark plug wires, removing the cap, and drying it out then putting everything back together (and finding somewhere warm and dry to park it for the rest of the winter!).

2018 Giulia Quadrifoglio
1982 Spider Veloce
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-27-2018, 08:21 AM
BB Janitor
Platinum SubscriberAdministratorSuper Moderator

Garage
Your theory has merit. You need not remove the spark plug wires - just release the two clips and the cap comes off the distributor. Wipe the inside dry - a squirt of WD40 might help (the WD supposedly stands for Water Displacement). Also clean the spark plug wells - debris & moisture can collect there.